FEMA’s National Advisory Committee

Federal Emergency Management Agency
Larson FEMA Council Swearing In 2010

FEMA Administrator, Craig Fugate, and ASFPM Executive Director, Larry A. Larson.

Larson Appointed to FEMA’s National Advisory Committee

The Association of State Floodplain Manager’s Executive Director, Larry A. Larson, has been appointed to FEMA’s National Advisory Council and will be sworn it at its February meeting.

Larson joins 34 other members who are appointed by the FEMA Administrator based on their expertise. They will serve three-year terms. ASFPM Executive Director, Larry Larson, is sworn in at FEMA’s National Advisory Council in February, 2010. The Council advises FEMA on all aspects of disaster preparedness, including “the development and revision of the national preparedness goal, the national preparedness system, the National Incident Management System, the National Response Plan, and other related plans and strategies” that FEMA uses in its quest for a comprehensive system of preparedness, protection, response, recovery, and mitigation.

This well-deserved recognition of Larson and the ASFPM is important on two fronts. First, Larson’s extensive experience and insight will be an invaluable asset to the Council as it provides input to FEMA programs and activities. Second, although the Council’s members do represent all levels of government, various local, state, nonprofit, and private-sector entities-and all geographic areas- their expertise has been drawn predominantly from the first-responder, public health, and law enforcement fields. With a voice on the Council, the ASFPM hopes to encourage more attention to natural hazards, including floods, and especially to mitigation of all disasters.

Read more about the National Advisory Council and members.


  • -