CRS Award for Excellence – Call for Nominations

Feb 12, 2013 | News & Views, What's New

Call for Nominations:

Community Rating System (CRS) Award for Excellence

Deadline: March 8, 2013

The National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP) has established an award to recognize individuals who have actively advanced the vision of the NFIP and the Community Rating System (CRS). The CRS is a program within the NFIP that provides guidelines for participating communities that want to continually improve their community’s safety and resilience to flooding and other natural disasters.

While all CRS participating communities are taking steps that improve their flood safety and resilience, certain communities stand out. As in all serious endeavors, outstanding results do not just happen. They are due to the efforts of specific individuals, who through their knowledge, commitment and passion, have made their communities safer. In an effort to recognize such individuals the NFIP is seeking nominations for the 2013 CRS Award for Excellence.


We are asking your organization and its members to help identify worthy individuals. In particular we are looking for nominees who have provided leadership in the area of alerting residents to the dangers of flooding and promoting the purchase of flood insurance through the NFIP. Such an individual could be an insurance or real estate professional, local official, floodplain manager, or other community leader.

The nominee should be:

Actively involved in a CRS community and knowledgeable about the potential risk of local flooding.

Active in promoting the use of flood insurance as a key tool in helping individuals prepare for the contingency of flood damage to their properties.

Active in encouraging community leaders to continually improve the community’s safety and resilience related to flooding and other disasters.

Recognizable as having noteworthy achievements in the area of alerting residents and businesses to potential flood dangers and promoting the purchase of flood insurance.

How to Nominate

If you or your members know of any such individuals, please help to recognize their achievements. To nominate an individual for consideration, please complete the nomination form and submit the form by March 8, 2013.

Individuals affiliated with the CRS Task Force and Employees of FEMA or Insurance Services office are not eligible.

Thank you for your consideration of this request. The NFIP appreciates your assistance in helping to recognize leaders whose efforts have made communities more aware of and resistant to the dangers of natural disasters.