Illinois Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management named ASFPM’s 2019 Outstanding Chapter

Jun 25, 2019 | News & Views, What's New

L-R: Ajay Jain,
Bryan Martindale, Glenn Heistand, Molly O’Toole and Dallas Alley (all members
of the Illinois Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management). Photo by John Hays.
The Outstanding Chapter Award for Excellence
is presented for outstanding activity that other chapters can replicate. And
although we emphasize that the activity is replicable, there are few chapters
that have brought their work more directly to the doorstep of communities in

year, the outstanding chapter award goes to the nation’s oldest and one of the
largest professional floodplain management associations—the Illinois Association for Floodplain and Stormwater Management.

an effort to assist communities after a flood, and recognizing that many NFIP
communities are small with limited staff, this chapter created the Rapid Assistance Flood Team, or RAFT,
to provide volunteer assistance with post-flood activities including
substantial damage determinations.

These response teams are all active chapter members,
all CFMs, represent local, state and federal government as well as private
sector and other professional disciplines. All RAFT team members are volunteers
who have agreed to assist communities in times of need. Since its creation in
2015, RAFT has been deployed four times. In 2018 they developed a RAFT guide
book to help the community better understand their responsibilities and is
available online.

Also marking the 25th anniversary of this
chapter’s largest mitigation effort, the Great Midwest Flood of 1993, this
chapter developed a video that documents their efforts and points out that their
work is not done. Congratulations to this innovative chapter!